Annual Awards 2017

Our Annual Awards Ceremony took place on Tuesday 16th May & our guest speaker this year was Professor Brian MacCraith, President of Dublin City University. Our Awards Night is a celebration of excellence and achievement. We acknowledge and honour those who, through their hard work and application, have achieved distinction in their classwork, examinations and co-curricular activities. As an Edmund Rice School we are committed, inter alia, to excellence in teaching and learning and the night is a celebration of that commitment.

Our guest speaker, Professor Brian MacCraith, began his career with a science degree in physics from NUI Galway and in July 2010, he was inaugurated as President of Dublin City University, a position that he will hold for 10 years. Professor MacCraith also has a strong profile in teaching and learning activities. He has had a substantial involvement in STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics) Education activities through membership of the Institute of Physics Education Subgroup, the RIA National Commission for the Teaching of Physics and various DCU committees dealing with this topic. In his roles as Director of the NCSR and the BDI, respectively, he contributed strongly to the establishment of Education and Outreach programmes with a special focus on enhancing Primary and Secondary School STEM Education.

Winners on the night included Niall Donohoe (6th Year Student of the Year), Luke Pendlebury (Principal’s Award), Ben Graham (5th Year Student of the Year), Rian Power & Alex Singeorzan (2nd Year Students of the Year) & Matthew Burke (1st Year Student of the Year). Recipients of the Bronze Medallion for academic achievement were Seán Masterson (6th Year), Ben Graham (5th Year) Charlie Brady & Kenneth Heeney (3rd Year), Donal Monahan (2nd Year) & Dylan McBrien (1st Year). In sport, recognition was given to the Senior Golf team on reaching the quarter final of the Leinster Senior MP competition. Team members included Ryan Christian, Robert Rutledge, Adam Carroll and Dylan Christian. For their outstanding commitment to co-curricular activities throughout their years in the school, recognition was given to James Holland (Sport) Fionnán Keogh (Music) Mathew Somers (Debating & Politics). Music on the night was provided by Junior School Band, Senior School Band and Brian Nugent.